Network of partners

The partners of the Max Planck School of Photonics contribute to the German research and education in seven cities. With the University of Hamburg, the University of Göttingen, the RWTH Aachen University, the Friedrich Schiller University Jena, the Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, and the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, they represent the German excellence in the field of photonics. This network is extended with several institutes from the four biggest German research societies: the Fraunhofer Institutes in Jena (Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering) and Aachen (Institute for Laser Technology), the Max-Planck-Institutes in Erlangen (Institute for the Physics of Light) and Munich (Institute for Quantum Optics), the Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron( (DESY) in Hamburg, the Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research in Jena and the Leibniz Institute for Photonic Technologies in Jena.

These locations are not only epicenters in photonic research and origin of dynamic industry, but also internationally big players in academia and industry related teaching. The universities FAU, FSU and KIT act as teaching universities with their excellent, accredited, well established and international master courses in the field of photonics. Hence, a unique master program is created for postgraduate studies.

Go to Editor View