Students of all three Max Planck Schools at Kick-off-symposium of the Max Planck Schools in September 2019.  Photographer: David Ausserhofer

Welcome to the Max Planck Schools!

"The whole is greater than the sum of its parts" – this is the underlying idea of the Max Planck Schools. We take graduate education in Germany to a new level, creating uniquely attractive PhD programs for outstanding candidates from all over the world.

Since 2019, the Max Planck Schools are offering a visionary graduate program to exceptional PhD candidates. The faculties of each school unite some of the best scholars in their field to teach and work with highly motivated doctoral candidates, all embedded in a network spanning across universities and non-university research institutes.

The Max Planck Schools are looking for applicants with Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from all over the world, aiming to further develop their research skills and network in one of the most innovative graduate programs in Germany. Their applications are screened in a multistage process to identify high potential candidates. Over the course of three to five years, candidates will earn their PhD. Close contact to faculty and fellow students is ensured via regular seminars and lab rotations as well as innovative digital teaching formats.

The Max Planck Schools offer innovative formats and exceptional mentoring by the Fellows in order to attract the best young researchers to conduct their doctoral studies in Germany. Supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the pilot phase of the Max Planck School serves as a platform for educational reform that aims to advance the system of doctoral education in Germany.

Currently, there are three Max Planck Schools in the fields of Cognition, Matter to Life, and Photonics.

Are you looking for an exciting and challenging graduate program to kick-start your academic career, or do you want to join the interdisciplinary faculties of the Max Planck Schools as a Fellow? Check out the Schools’ programs and partners and become part of a unique network!

Our Mission

At Max Planck Schools the brightest minds in their fields have come together from within the scientific community to interconnect in faculties. Our selected PhD candidates benefit from these networks through close personal exchange,  scientific mentoring and access to excellent infrastructures.

more
Our Fellows
Fellows mentor our young researchers and accompany them throughout their PhD studies. more
Our Governance

Each Max Planck School is steered by outstanding scientists as Speakers and supported by a head office that is responsible for program implementation and administration of the respective School.

more
The Max Planck Schools offer unique PhD programs with fully financed PhD positions for Bachelor and Master Graduates in an outstanding scientific environment. more

Picture on top of page: Students of all three Max Planck Schools at Kick-off-symposium of the Max Planck Schools in September 2019.

Photographer: David Ausserhofer

Go to Editor View

Studierende aller drei Max Planck Schools auf dem Kick-Off-Symposium der Max Planck Schools, September 2019.  ©David Ausserhofer

Willkommen bei den Max Planck Schools!

Enger persönlicher Austausch für die beste Promotion in Deutschland

"Das Ganze ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile" - das ist der Grundgedanke der Max Planck Schools. Wir gehen neue Wege in der Graduiertenförderung in Deutschland und sind deshalb so attraktiv für ambitionierte internationale Doktorandenanwärter*innen.

Die Max Planck Schools sind eine gemeinsame Initiative deutscher Universitäten und außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen. Seit 2019 bieten wir ambitionierten Nachwuchsforscher*innen die Möglichkeit, ihre Promotion in einem einzigartigen Netzwerk zu schreiben mit Zugang zu einigen der renommiertesten Wissenschaftler*innen in drei innovativen Forschungsfeldern: Cognition, Matter to Life und Photonics.

Die Max Planck Schools sprechen Bewerber*innen aus der ganzen Welt an. Gesucht sind junge Talente, die ihre Forschungskompetenzen aufbauen und ihre Wissenschaftskarriere im Rahmen eines innovativen Promotionsprogramms starten möchten.

Die Max Planck Schools ermöglichen unterschiedliche Einstiegsarten sowohl für Bachelorabsolvent*innen als auch Masterabsolvent*innen. Die Schools begleiten ihre Kandidat*innen über die gesamte Programmdauer zwischen drei und fünf Jahren bis zum Ende ihrer Promotion. Die Promovierenden haben sowohl durch Blockseminare und Laborrotationen als auch über innovative, digitale Lehrformate direkten Zugang zu den führenden Wissenschaftler*innen in Deutschland, den aktuellsten Forschungstrends und ihren eigenen Peers.

Durch die Erprobung neuer Formate und Instrumente in der Promotionsförderung möchten wir die besten Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen für eine Promotion in Deutschland gewinnen und dabei auch einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Fortentwicklung des deutschen Wissenschaftssystems leisten.

Für die Pilotphase bis 2023, die finanziell erheblich vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unterstützt wird, wurden die drei innovativsten Schools im bundesweiten Wettbewerb ausgewählt: die Max Planck School of Cognition, die Max Planck School Matter to Life und die Max Planck School of Photonics.

Bist Du auf der Suche nach einem zukunftsweisenden, anspruchsvollen und interdisziplinären Graduiertenprogramm? Informiere Dich jetzt auf den folgenden Seiten über Programme und Partner der Schools und werde Teil eines einzigartigen Netzwerks!

Unsere Mission

Die Max Planck Schools bündeln die orts- und organisationsverteilte Exzellenz Deutschlands in einem interdisziplinären Netzwerk. Die „Stars“ verschiedener Wissenschaftsdisziplinen geben in den Max Planck Schools ihr Wissen an die Forschenden von morgen weiter.  

mehr
Unsere Fellows

An den Max Planck Schools arbeiten die Promovierenden mit den engagiertesten Wissenschaftler*innen ihres Forschungsfelds zusammen.

mehr
Unsere Struktur
Mehr Informationen über die Sprecher und Geschäftsstellen der Schools sowie zu den Lenkungsorganen. mehr
In voll finanzierten Promotionsprogrammen können Bachelor- und Masterabsolvent*innen von ausgezeichneter Infrastruktur, innovativen Lehrformaten und interdisziplinärem Austausch profitieren. mehr

Bild ganz oben: Studierende aller drei Max Planck Schools auf dem Kick-Off-Symposium der Max Planck Schools, September 2019.

©David Ausserhofer

Zur Redakteursansicht